Just another WordPress.com site

Every day there is some new research program into curing Multiple Sclerosis, some have been successful over the years in controlling symptoms or progression of the disease; the cure still eludes us.  Recently a friend in the USA with ms alerted me to a research program which is proving to be very successful using ‘Stem Cell Neutral’, a form of stem cell which is not fully developed and when transplanted directly into the brain/spinal cord of a person with ms it gets to work, elevating the disease symptoms by repairing the damage to the nerves as well as renewing brain cells to heal lesions; it is quite possible this is the cure millions of us desperately need.

Reading the article my friend sent, I began to feel hope that maybe the time was here the time I long for almost daily; has this small research project found the cure? My excitement was short-lived as I read on for there was the line that I knew would ensure this research would never make it into the treatment centers around the world, you see stem cells in order to be neutral have to be collected from a fetus of less than 16 weeks; the cells are harvested from aborted tissue.

As Ireland embarks on what will prove to be an emotive debate on abortion there are millions of me’s out there who could be cured by the harvested cells of an aborted fetus which lets be honest will only be incinerated anyway. If abortion is introduced in Ireland can any of you see the researchers getting a licence to run trials? We could have the cure for so many diseases and I for one believe it would honor the existence of the aborted fetus if the cells go on to give life to others.

I am laying here in pain writing this blog hoping that my disease allows me to live long enough to meet a grandchild someday, Keira is only fifteen but I have always lived with goals after achieving my last I came up with the grandchild clause. I don’t want to see any child aborted as personally it is never a choice I would make, I don’t believe I have a right to try to enforce my views on others.

I thought most of last night what would I do if I was offered a stem cell neutral transplant? My heart would forever grieve for the child that never stood a chance but looking at my almost grown daughter I believed I would accept the treatment, my work here was far from over. Guilt quickly set in within the dept’s of my heart, I wanted more children in my life, before Keira was born I gave birth to a baby at 19.5 weeks I saw how perfect she was all that was missing from this perfect little human was body fat. I honestly believe I will never have to deal with the do I don’t I question, if we can’t agree on present legislation then medical research hasn’t a hope.

The research I read about is taking place under a veil of secrecy I can’t even link the article for fear it may lead back to my friend, she obtained it through a source receiving treatment, in a country where abortions are carried out every single day this research remains secret for fear the researchers lives would be at risk! Ireland has a very long way to go before allowing aborted fetus be used to find cures for life limiting diseases!

I am interested in what you think? what would you do if faced with such a dilemma? Do you feel it would be acceptable for research projects to use aborted fetus to find cures for other diseases?

Today I don’t think I could accept the transplant if offered but in 5 years time I may feel differently it depends how fast I progress from here!

Comments on: "Life Or Death Dilemma -What Would You Do" (2)

  1. How much less than 16 weeks ? If it was less than 10 weeks, I could not see any worry about it and good luck, btw.

    Like

  2. Oddly enough I’m doing research on the ethics – not the morals, I’m assuming availability of pluripotent cells is a given – of using stem cells to cure disease. Interesting article to read. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment