Just another WordPress.com site

My week got off to a great start I woke with severe pelvic spasm that by 1pm would only respond to the hard stuff. My GP arrived opened his bag and after an examination decided this required multiple drugs by injection. I had 10mgs of Morphine, 10mgs of Oxynorm and 10mgs of benzo; such a combination was a drug addicts dream in my case it was confirmation that my journey to hell had begun once more.

in-between my drug fueled state I did manage to send Pearse Doherty an email outlining my present situation, he had kindly taken a 30 minute phone call from my husband in the morning. Once more Pearse Doherty TD has agreed to act on my behalf I am not even a constituent of his yet this man is prepared to do for me what Derek Nolan TD and Colm Keaveney seem incapable of.

Since my relapse in early December my legs have been failing to the point I am going to the seating clinic tomorrow in the hope of finding a lightweight indoor wheelchair. I can’t get an appointment at my pain clinic until early March which means six weeks in chronic nerve pain lay ahead for me! Between the addictive medication, the chronic pain and the inhumane wait for my 30 minute infusion I am expected to function as a parent who daughter needs me as she is totally stressed out over her junior cert mock exams; they start next Wednesday at 9am.

Since I embarked on my public journey last september I have received calls and emails from people asking me to expose the waste at the HSE one woman whose husband is dying with cancer had to wait 5 weeks for the palliative care team to step in as the sector is understaffed and may of the highly trained nurse practitioners have left the country! This woman was administering 15mgs shots to her husband every 6 hours she was ready to take both their lives one evening as she could no longer watch the man she loved in pain.

I am looking at going after the HSE for causing me to exist in a state of intolerable cruelty? The regime running the country are not effected by the most heartbreaking of tales of unnecessary suffering it is my hope to get a hearing with if not Dr Reilly then one of the civil servants and if nothing else get the stories into the public domain

Any legal people out there who would be willing to help me make this happen please read the parts of the charter below I hope to use for my case 

11-Right to Avoid Unnecessary Suffering and Pain
Each individual has the right to avoid as much suffering and pain as possible, in each phase of his or her illness.
The health services must commit themselves to taking all measures useful to this end, like providing palliative treatments and simplifying patients’ access to them.

12-Right to Personalised Treatment
Each individual has the right to diagnostic or therapeutic programmes tailored as much as possible to his or her personal needs.
The health services must guarantee, to this end, flexible programmes, oriented as much as possible to the individual, making sure that the criteria of economic sustainability does not prevail over the right to health care.

14-Right to Compensation
Each individual has the right to receive sufficient compensation within a reasonably short time whenever he or she has suffered physical or moral and psychological harm caused by a health service treatment.
The health services must guarantee compensation, whatever the gravity of the harm and its cause (from an excessive wait to a case of malpractice), even when the ultimate responsibility cannot be absolutely determined.

Leave a comment